NPP members to be sitting as NCP in upcoming Assembly Session

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Staff Reporter
SHILLONG, Sept 03:
National People’s Party (NPP) leader Conrad K Sangma will be sitting in the upcoming Assembly Session as the Leader of Opposition (LO) from Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).
Along with him, the remaining 11 MLAs of NCP who merged with NPP last month will also be representing NCP in the Assembly.
The reason being, the 12 MLAs of NPP did not resign from the primary membership of NCP.  Hence, as per the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly records, they are still the members of NCP ‘technically’, said Conrad here.
This is also the reason why these legislators have not been stirred by the threat of disqualification by the NCP, as they have not yet tendered their resignation to the Speaker, neither have they submitted the documents for the merger with NPP. 
Since there are no paper works available, NCP possibly or even the Election Commission on India (ECI) cannot disqualify these legislators.
However, the paper work is under process, informed Conrad.
It is also learnt that the opposition bench will be moving a resolution in the upcoming Assembly Session for Inner Line Permit (ILP).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here