Lok Sabha polls from April 11 to May 19, vote count on May 23

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora

New Delhi, March 10: LS polls to be held from April 11 to May 19 in 7 phases, counting on May 23.

Phase 1 on April 11, Phase 2 to be held on April 18, Phase 3 on April 23, Phase 4 to be held on April 29, Phase 5 to be held on May 6, Phase 6 to be held on May 12, Phase 7 to be held on May 19

States going to polls in seven phases: Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal

States going to polls in five phases: Jammu & Kashmir

States going to polls in four phases: Jharkhand, MP, Maharashtra, Odisha

States going to polls in three phases: Assam, Chhattisgarh

States going to polls in two phases: Karnataka, Manipur, Rajasthan, Tripura

States going in single phase: Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal, Kerala, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Sikkim, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Andaman and Nicobar, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep, Delhi, Puducherry, Chandigarh

Phase-wise poll details:

Phase 1: 91 constituencies in 20 states | Phase 2: 97 constituencies in 13 states | Phase 3: 115 constituencies in 14 states | Phase 4: 71 constituencies in 9 states | Phase 5: 51 constituencies in 7 states | Phase 6: 59 constituencies in 7 states | Phase 7 59 in 8 states

Counting of votes will take place on May 23.

The staggered election will see about 900 million voters, up from 814.5 million in 2014, when Narendra Modi led the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) to power ending a decade of Congress-headed UPA rule.

Of this, some 15 million will be first-time voters in the age group of 18 to 19 years.

Approximately 10 lakh polling stations, one lakh more than in 2014, will be set up and a total of 17.4 lakh VVPATs will be used with electronic voting machines (EVMs) in all polling stations, Arora told a crowded press conference.

“The Election Commission has attempted a very comprehensive preparation for the conduct of the election”, Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said on Sunday.

“The panel believes that purity of electoral roll is the foundation of fair elections,” he added