ECI to decide on recommendation for re – poll in Konarchar polling station

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

SHILLONG, April 12: Whether or not re – polling will be carried out in a polling station in Tura parliamentary constituency will depend on the decision of the Election Commission of India (ECI) which has been apprised of a human error in this polling station.
In this regard, election officials in Meghalaya informed on Friday that re-polling has been recommended at the Konarchar polling station where simultaneous polls were held for the Tura Lok Sabha seat and the Selsella Assembly seat on Thursday.
The state’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Fredrick Roy Kharkongor said that a problem had arisen because of the presence of two sets of voting machines (one for the LS poll and the other for the bye-election).
He said there was a human error which was reported very late on Thursday evening. The sector officer had detected mismatch in the control units of the electronic voting machines (EVMs) for Assembly and MP elections due to criss-crossing of the machines.
“On receiving this information, the returning officer submitted a report to us and accordingly we have sent the same to the Election Commission of India with a recommendation for a repoll in the particular polling station,” Kharkongor said.
“Now the matter is lying with the Election Commission (for its decision),” he added.
Meanwhile, the CEO further informed that it was also recommended to the Election Commission for counting of voter verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) slips in six polling stations due to failures of the presiding officers to clear the mock poll data from the EVMs.
Of these, two polling stations are under the Shillong parliamentary constituency while three are under the Tura parliamentary constituency.
These include Khliehrangnah in Raliang Assembly constituency and Nongpyndeng – Nongstoin Assembly constituency, Pssengagre and Tochapara in Gambegre constituency and Dawakilingre in Williamnagar constituency, he said.