Congress fields KL Chishi for Nagaland Lok Sabha seat

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Former Nagaland Chief Minister KL Chishi. (Image Credit: Northeast Now)

Kohima, March 16: Former chief minister of Nagaland K L Chishi has been fielded by Congress for the lone Lok Sabha seat in the State. The Congress also announced the candidature of former state bureaucrat, Alemjongshi Longkumer, for the by-election to the 26-Aonglenden Assembly constituency seat.

Announcing the candidates for both the elections, Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee (NPCC) General Secretary G K Zhimomi said their candidature was approved by the Central Election Committee of the All India Congress Committee.

The announcement was made late on Friday night. Zhimomi said the ticket distribution would be held on Wednesday in Dimapur.

Chishi, who served briefly as chief minister of Nagaland in 1990, had quit the Congress to join the BJP.

Chishi contested the 2018 state elections unsuccessfully as BJP candidate from Atoizu Assembly Constituency under Zunheboto district.

Chishi returned to the Congress’ fold recently and said, “I have rejoined Congress since my heart and spirit could never be separated from the party that has been the true epitome of secularism and upholding the sanctity of the Indian Constitution.”

The only opposition in the state Assembly, Naga Peoples Front, is yet to declare its candidates for the two elections but has informed that party tickets would be distributed along with tickets for Manipur Lok Sabha seats on Tuesday in Kohima.

The ruling People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) has distributed tickets for both the elections to sitting BJP-Nationalist Democratic Progressive Alliance (NDPP) MP Tokheho Yepthomi for the parliamentary seat and Shiraingain Longkumer for the Assembly seat.

Independent candidate O Tinujungshi Longkumer, brother of late Imtikumzuk Longkumer, who was the NDPP legislator of Assembly segment, has also declared to contest the by-poll as an Independent candidate.

Nominations for both the seats will open and conclude on March 18 while the poll will be held on April 11.