4th Meghalaya State shooting championship 2018 concludes

Written by Meghalaya Times. Posted in Sports

Staff Reporter
SHILLONG, June 25: The two – day 4th Meghalaya State shooting championship 2018 concluded on Sunday at the Assam Regiment Center's Precision and Open ranges. The 2018 edition was attended by over 50 participants, but bringing a total of 86 shooters across all events. There were a total of 10 women shooters in the category of Youth, Junior & Senior.
The event was organized by the Shooting Association of Meghalaya (SAM) on June 23 – 24, which also witnessed a marked increase of Shooters.
The oldest shooter was 55 years and the youngest was 16 years of age.                                                                                                         

The Shooting Association of Meghalaya, for the first time since its inception in 2012 conducted events such as 50 meter Free Pistol and 50 Meter peep sight Rifle both in prone and 3 positions for both Men & Women. The other events conducted were in: 10 meter Rifle, 10 meter Pistol, 25 meter Standard pistol, 25 meter center fire, Sports pistol, 50 meter open sight rifle, 50 meter rifle peep sight- prone, 50 meter peep sight- 3 position and 50 meter Free pistol. The events were conducted for both Women & Men – youth, junior , senior and the Services.
The medal winners in 10 meter Air pistol (Women-senior) were Shirley Kharbuli, Toiabha Mylliempdah & Ms Balarishisha Rani; 10 meter Air pistol (Men-senior) were Lam Min Lun, John Thounaojam and Davis N R Marak.
In the 10 meter (Women- Senior) it was Anjali Singh, S. Rebecca and LH Nengboi and in the junior category it was Alice Gangte.
In 25 meter Centre fire pistol men it was Sailen Rabha, Walsall M Monin and Rajen Bordoloi; in 25 meter Standard pistol (Men) it was Sailen Rabha, John Thounaojam and P. Kharshiing; in the 25 meter Sports pistol (Women) - Shirley Kharbuli and Toiabha Mylliempdah.
In the 50 meter Free pistol Men medals were bagged by P. Kharshiing, Davis NR Mark and Walsall Momin.
In the services 10 meter pistol Shisheer Gurung, Mego Vizo & Kaisuamang and in the 10 meter Air rifle I.N.Kr Sinha, Mhathung Kikon & A. Kom.
The junior from services saw Kapil Malik, Arpan Thapa & Prakash KC.
The open sight .22 Rifle Sr Men (Prone) was taken by Juti Daimary, TH Biswakarma & Pynkhemlang Surong and in the womens it was Amalisha Sangma & Sengrikchi Marak.
In the men peep sight 50 meter Hiamdor Lyngdoh, W. Nongseij & W. Kharkongor. The 50 meter peep sight .22 Rifle Women senior (Prone) it was Veronica Buhroy & Anjali Singh. The peep sight 50 meter men 3 positions saw Hiamdor Lyngdoh, W. Kharkongor & Mawdaker Marwein bag the medals.
The Association appointed R. Bhagawati, International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) qualified judge as the Competition Director for the championship and was supported by an experienced team for the classification and compilation of scores and final results. 
The President, SAM, John F Kharshiing, in his welcome address stated that the State Championship, is part of its preparation for selection of the top shooters to represent Meghalaya in the upcoming 6th North East Zone Shooting Championship to be held at Aizawl, Mizoram and to build up the team strength.
The closing ceremony and prize distribution was graced by Brig. R.P. Gaikwad, Commandant Assam Regimental Center as the Chief Guest. The Chief Guest Brig. RP Gaikwad, during his address to all the participants and officials stated that it was their duty to help especially the top shooters of Meghalaya to use the ARC shooting ranges till such time the State Government can set up their own Integrated shooting range.
He called on both the winners and the losers to continue to strive for perfection and was confident that the North East will surely continue to produce more Olympians as they did with Mary Kom and others. He assured the help of the ARC in whatever ways possible and was and will always be there to build closer understanding and relationship with the civilian community.


FaceBook  Twitter