Shillong Lajong FC wins Gionee Shillong Premier League 2016 edition

Written by Meghalaya Times. Posted in Sports

Staff reporter
Shillong, Nov 09: Shillong Lajong FC defeated the top most opponent and a challangers Rangdajied United FC by 3-2 in the football tournament “the Gionee Shillong Premier League Champions (GSPL) 2016 edition”, where the both teams have reached to the finale but Lajong had more advanced  in winning the grand finale held at the JN Stadium Shillong here on Wednesday.
The Reds are now Meghalaya’s best team for three consecutive years, after winning the championship in the 2014, 2015 and now the 2016 edition as well. Shillong Lajong FC who had dominated the top spot throughout the league stage fought very well and hardwork to defend the title in the grand finale against Rangdajied United and scored three goals in yesterday’s game with a brace from Lalrammuana and one goal scored by super sub Alen Deory.

Thangboi Singto’s boys have started the game with a much confidential and looked very calm and overwhelmed. Althoug, h it took time for the Reds to settle in the match, they looked fureious and very dangerous in front of the goal and were threatening their opponent’s half continuously.
After all the attacks have been taken in the front, they finally opened the account and took the lead in the 22nd minute of the match when Isaac Vanmalsawma’s free kick wasn’t able to cleared out by the Rangdajied defender and it was who Lalrammuana made for an easy tap into the net.
After conceding the goal, the RUFC players started to make some better moves to the front
and managed to earn their first corner shot in the 30th minute of the game but nothing had gone so productive. Then in the 41st minute, their foreign recruits James Moga tried a long ranger kicked but it went wide of the left post.
Then came a half break of the match and Shillong Lajong FC went with a 1-0 leading  against Rangdajied United FC.
After the break time was over, Rangdajied United FC managed the score line with the goal by James Moga in the 46th minute of the match.
Lajong keeper received a back pass from his team mate but then he slipped down near the right post and Moga was quicker to take an advantage of his sliped as the ball made one bounce for him that made very easily the ball into the net.
The game then got very exciting soon after that as the pressure has started to build up and Lajong knew that they had to continue their attacking display in order to come up with another goal. In the 53rd minute, Lajong youngsters came very close to regain their lead.
Bipin Singh made a good run inside the box and then crossed the ball to Samuela but his shot went straight to the Rangdajied keeper.
Lajong Head Coach, Thangboi Singto, made a quick substitution to Alen Deory replacing Samuela in the 61st minute and Alen then entered the pitch when Lajong were awarded a free kick from the referee.  In a latter not more than a second, Alen Deory converted helping his team restoring the lead by 2-1.
But just seven minutes later, the Blues break down Lajong’s lead once again to level the score at 2-2 by Debin Roy Shangprung.
Yesterday’s game was truly the spectators at the edge of their seats as everyone was eager to witness the winning goal. Then two minutes later, it was Shillong Lajong FC’s top goal scorer, Lalrammuana who netted the winning goal in the 70th minute was Isaac’s diagonal ball from the centre half found Redeem on the right wing Lalrammuana, who controlled the ball very well and laid it across goal for an easy tap.
Rangadjied tried so hard to level the score line again but could not penetrate the Lajong defenders. The referee then blew up the final whistle in the end and declared Lajong won the Gionee Shillong Premier League 2016 for the third consecutive year.


FaceBook  Twitter