Danggo announces imminent shift of allegiance to NPP

Written by Meghalaya Times. Posted in Front Page

Staff Reporter
SHILLONG, June 12: With Chief Minister, Conrad Sangma announcing on Tuesday that Ranikor will be upgraded to a Civil Sub-Division, the Congress MLA representing Ranikor constituency, Martin M Danggo has said that he will soon shift his allegiance to the ruling National People’s Party (NPP).
“The people of Ranikor have suffered as much as I have during the last four terms of my being with the Congress. As it is the wishes of the people here, I will accede to their demands,” Danggo said while addressing a crowd of over 5,000 followers at Ranikor.

He said he was thankful to the leaderships of this new government to take exemplary decisions and create a Civil Sub Division which will benefit the people in the area.
He however, said that he will officially join the party once the government lays the foundation stone for the sub-division.
Earlier, Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma announced that his government has decided to upgrade Ranikor administrative unit into a full-fledged civil sub-division with an aim to take administration closer to the people.
During this trip to Ranikor, the Chief Minister was accompanied by his deputy, Prestone Tynsong and Home Minister James K Sangma and NPP president W R Khalukhi among others.
After the official announcement by the Chief Minister, Ranikor Block Congress president Jerman Nongsiang and its general secretary Nelbi T Sangma and top Congress leaders resigned en-mass to join the NPP.
The leaders led by Nongsiang also petitioned their MLA Danggo to resign from the Assembly and join the NPP within seven days.
Danggo, a five time MLA representing Ranikor assembly constituency, is set to put in his papers before Speaker Donkupar Roy anytime this week, his close aide informed.
His joining the NPP will reduce the number of seats the Congress has from 21 to 20 bringing it at par with the ruling NPP.
The NPP led MDA is a six party coalition government. The NPP has 20 MLAs, UDP has 7, People’s Democratic Front has 4, two each of the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Hill State People’s Democratic Party.
The NCP, having one MLA and two Independents are also supporting the government.


FaceBook  Twitter