Donkupar files nomination papers for Speaker election

Written by Meghalaya Times. Posted in Front Page

Staff Reporter
SHILLONG, March 08: Dr. Donkupar Roy who has been nominated by the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government for the post of Speaker of the assembly, filed his nomination papers for the elections to this August post on Thursday.
Dr. Roy, who is the president of the United Democratic Party (UDP), is also the longest serving legislator from Shella constituency. He was re-elected for the seventh time in the just concluded Assembly polls.

His name was proposed by legislators from the ruling side which include Home Minister, James K Sangma, PHE Minister, Samlin Malngiang, Sports Minister, Banteidor Lyngdoh and Social Welfare Minister, Kyrmen Shylla.
The same was seconded by General Administration Department Minister, Comingone Ymbon, Tourism Minister, Metbah Lyngdoh, Health Minister, A.L. Hek and Education Minister, Lahkmen Rymbui.
Filing of nominations and scrutiny was held at the old Assembly secretariat, Khyndai Lad here on Thursday.
“The nominations of both the candidates were found valid,” Meghalaya Assembly Commissioner and Secretary, Andrew Simons said.
The ruling coalition has 36 members, which include the NPP (19), UDP (6), PDF (4), HSPDP (2), BJP (2), NCP (1) and two Independents namely Samuel M. Sangma and Lambor Malngiang.
The opposition Congress won 21 seats, but physically, it has only 20 members in the House since former Chief Minister, Dr. Mukul Sangma got elected from two seats – Ampati and Songsak.
Lone Khun Hynñiewtrep National Awakening Movement MLA, Adelbert Nongrum and another Independent, SK Sun are yet to declare which of the two candidates they are going to support.
The special session of the tenth Meghalaya Legislative Assembly that began on Wednesday with the oath taking of newly elected members will resume on March 12 for the election of new Assembly Speaker.
The MDA coalition would also move a vote of confidence in the House on the same day after the election of the Speaker.
Newly sworn-in Chief Minister, Conrad K. Sangma will move the vote of confidence.
Conrad, who is the current Lok Sabha MP from Tura, will have to get elected as member of the Assembly within six months to continue as Chief Minister.


FaceBook  Twitter