443 candidates vying to contend in Assembly polls

Written by Meghalaya Times. Posted in Front Page

Staff Reporter
SHILLONG, Feb 07: As many as 443 candidates who are aspiring to become legislators had filed their nomination papers on the last day set by the Election Commission of India for this exercise and will now have to wait for their papers to be scrutinized before they are given the nod to contest the upcoming Assembly elections to be held on February 27.
The number of candidates filing nomination papers saw a rise as compared to what was seen in the previous elections in 2013 where there were 345 candidates.

The filing of nomination papers by candidates started on January 31 last and ended on Wednesday. Scrutiny of papers will be held on Thursday while the last date for withdrawal of nominations is on February 12.
“Altogether 443 candidates have filed nominations for the 60 constituencies,” state’s chief electoral officer Frederick R Kharkongor said here on Wednesday, which is the last day of filing of nominations in the poll bound state. 
The 443 candidates include 59 from the ruling Congress, 53 - National People’s Party (NPP), 53 – regional alliance (United Democratic Party (35), Hill State People Democratic Party (13) and Garo National Council (5)), 47 – Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).
The other includes 17 from the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), 22 from the People Democratic Front (PDF) and 8 from the Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement (KHNAM) besides other parties and Independents also filed their nominations.
 The last day set for filing of nominations saw 130 candidates complete this exercise, the most prominent being Chief Minister, Dr. Mukul Sangma, who is contesting two seats. Dr. Sangma had filed his nomination papers from Songsak constituency in East Garo Hills District on Wednesday after he had completed this exercise for his candidature for the Ampati seat on Tuesday.
Assembly’s speaker Abu Taher Mondal also filed his nomination for seeking re-election from Phulbari constituency on the final day.
Former minister EC Boniface Bamon (NCP) filed his nomination from Mokaiaw, former minister Shitlang Pale (INC) – Sutnga-Saipung, sitting MDC Rona Khymdeit – Nongpoh, sitting MDC Hadrian Lyngdoh (PDF) – Mawkyrwat.
The others include Former ANVC chairman Desang Marak (NCP) – Rongjeng, former ANVC.B chairman Bernard N Marak (All India Trinamool Congress) – South Tura and Tony Fass Marbaniang of the North East India Development Party (NEIDP) from North Shillong.


FaceBook  Twitter