Ymbon rocks MUA II boat Quits as state Power Minister

Written by Meghalaya Times. Posted in Front Page

Staff Reporter
SHILLONG, Dec 04: Citing ‘personal reasons’ Comingone Ymbon has quit the post of State Power Minister and has tendered a resignation letter to Chief Minister, Dr. Mukul Sangma here on Monday.

“I hereby tender my resignation as minister in-charge of power general administration department (GAD) and community & rural development (C&RD) from today,” Ymbon said in the letter which was sent to Dr. Sangma just four days ahead of the winter session of the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly to be held from December 8 next.
It may be noted here that Ymbon was elevated to the post of a cabinet minister just four months back replacing the then Power Minister, Sngiawbhalang Dhar who is expected to join the National People’s Party (NPP) soon.
Ymbon, a two-time sitting legislator of Raliang constituency, in West Jaintia Hills District, sworn in along with Umsning MLA Celestine Lyngdoh as ministers of the Congress-led Meghalaya United Alliance (MUA-II) government on August 4 last.
This was after two former ministers Prestone Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar were dropped from the cabinet by Dr. Sangma on August 3.
Soon after he submitted his resignation letter, Ymbon immediately left for his home constituency. Attempts were also made to contact him but proved futile.
However, sources closed to the former minister revealed that Ymbon was not happy with the style of functioning of Dr. Sangma.
According to the source, the Minister was never informed about a meeting convened recently by the Chief Minister with the officials of the power department.
Meanwhile, Ymbon is another sitting legislator of the ruling Congress who is likely to leave the party ahead of the upcoming 2018 Assembly polls.
Sources informed that the MLA of Raliang constituency would soon take a call on whether he will contest the upcoming elections on a Congress ticket or seek one from the NPP.
Earlier, five rebel legislators of the Congress had already announced their decision not to contest from the party in the upcoming state elections.
Of these, four which include former deputy chief minister Rowel Lyngdoh, former ministers Prestone Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar and Umroi MLA Ngaitlang Dhar are all set to join the NPP.
Suspended Congress MLA/MDC and chief executive member of the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council (KHADC), PN Syiem, on the other hand will be leading the newly floated People’s Democratic Front (PDF).


FaceBook  Twitter