Agatha to contest 2018 polls, James to seek re-election

Written by Meghalaya Times. Posted in Front Page

Staff Reporter
TURA, Nov 09: Former Union Minister Agatha K. Sangma will be contesting the 2018 state elections on a National People’s Party (NPP) from South Tura constituency.
Her brother and sitting legislator James K Sangma meanwhile will be seeking re-election from Dadengre.

Making her come back to politics, Agatha, also the youngest daughter of the former Lok Sabha Speaker and founder of the NPP, late Purno Agitok Sangma, will be contesting from South Tura, a constituency currently represented by independent MLA John Leslee K Sangma.
Along with Agatha, the NPP is fielding two former MPs in the upcoming poll which include Thomas A. Sangma, who will be contesting from North Tura constituency.
The list announced by the NPP also included its only two sitting legislators in the 60-member House – James K Sangma from Dadenggre constituency and Nihim D Shira from Songsak constituency.
Songsak is one of the constituencies in Garo Hills which the chief minister Mukul Sangma has expressed interest to contest in the upcoming poll apart from his home constituency, Ampati in the newly created South West Garo Hills District.
However, the NPP is yet to announce the name of its candidate who will be contesting against the chief minister from Ampati constituency.
The NPP is also fielding former chief of the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council (KHADC) Hispreaching Son Shylla, who has recently quit the newly floated PDF to join the party fold, from Nongkrem, which is represented by the HSPDP supremo Ardent M Basaiawmoit.
Cleophas B Syiem, who is once a close-confidante of Congress veteran leader DD Lapang, was also named in the list and is also set to contest against the former chief minister from Nongpoh constituency.
Out of 24 seats in Garo Hills, the NPP has announced as many as 13 candidates from the region, which it had expressed confidence to get around 19 seats in the upcoming poll.
Similarly, a total of 11 candidates were announced from the Khasi-Jaintia Hills region which is having 36 assembly seats which include 7 from East and West Khasi Hills and two each from East & West Jaintia Hills and Ri Bhoi District.
The names of the other candidates include FW Momin from Mendipathar, TD Shira – Resubelpara, Marcuise N Marak – Williamnagar, Benedict Marak – Raksamgre, Manirul Islam Sarkar – Phulbari, Dr Mizanur Kazi – Rajabala, FCA Sangma – Selsella, Ian Botham Sangma – Salmanpara and Rakkam Sangma – Siju Rongara.
Those contesting seats in the Khasi - Jaintia hills include Sosthenes Sohtun – Jirang, Laplu M Sangma – Mawsynram, Sainkupar Riahtam – Shella, Lawanpynshngain K War – Mairang, Macmillan Byrsat – Nongstoin, Alfred Kharbani – Rambrai-Jyrngam, Dasakhiatbha Lamare – Mawhati, Wailadmiki Shylla – Jowai and Gilbert Sten – Mookaiaw.


FaceBook  Twitter