New GHADC CEM to be elected on July 18

Written by Meghalaya Times. Posted in Front Page

Staff Reporter
SHILLONG, July 10: Paving the way for the formation of a new Executive Committee, the Governor of Meghalaya, Banwarilal Purohit has approved the removal of Administrator’s Rule over the Garo Hills Autonomous District Council (GHADC).
Confirming this on Monday, District Council Affairs (DCA) Minister Prestone Tynsong said, “The AR has been lifted after the proposal of the state Cabinet was approved by the Governor.”

He informed that as per the notification to this effect, the election of the new Chief Executive Member (CEM) of the GHADC will be held on July 18.
Earlier, the decision of the Cabinet was not approved by the Governor as the suspended NPP leader Boston Marak – who claimed to have the support of the majority – is still occupying the post of the Council’s Chairman.
Recently on July 7, Marak resigned as the chairman of GHADC, raising speculations that the Congress has the numbers to form the next EC in the Council.
Under the leadership of Boston Marak, who is the nephew of NPP founder late Purno Agitok Sangma, five members of the NPP-led coalition had defected to the Congress camp.
The Congress camp claims to have mustered the numbers to form the EC and is awaiting the Governor’s go ahead to stake claim in the Council.
It was on April 4 that the Governor had imposed Administrator’s Rule in the GHADC and the Deputy Commissioner of South Garo Hills District CV Darlong Diengdoh took over charge of the Council.
This came after the collapse of the National People Party (NPP) led EC after the former CEM Denang T Sangma resigned without facing the No-Confidence motion on the floor of the House on March 30 last.
Boston had rebelled against his own party NPP and against his own cousin Tura MP Conrad K Sangma for not heeding to the demands for a change in leadership at the district council.
The NPP had won 10 seats in the 2015 GHADC polls relegating the Congress to second place with seven seats. GNC had won three seats, BJP 1, NCP 1 and Independents seven.
The NPP led Garo Hills Progressive Alliance (GHPA) in the GHADC was formed after the elections held on October 7, 2015.


FaceBook  Twitter